Kelp Noodles <3!!

So, as most of you know, I have been taking part in #elf4health being doing by Ella from Nutritionella and Lindsay from The Lean Green Bean.  I am still LOVING every minutes of this challenge!  It’s fantastic, and I have loved getting to know the other elves!  I can’t believe it’s still growing too!  If you stop and think about it, what am amazing thing to witness!  Two kind and motivating women, who took an idea and threw it into action! Thank you ladies for allowing us Elves to be a part of your amazing challenge!

Now to the Kelp Noodles! Yesterday’s challenge was to treat ourselves to something we have been craving. This was a weird one, but being unemployed funds have been limited, so I haven’t been able to “treat” myself to one of my favorite foods…. KELP NOODLES!  They are like $5 something at Whole Foods, and whenever I get them I try to make them into a few meals.  However, when i first tried them, I pretty much ate the whole bag in 2 servings! :P

Have you ever heard of Kelp Noodles??

Kelp noodles are made from the sea vegetable, kelp!  It’s funny because whenever I think about Kelp I think of “Gidget” and when Sandra Lee got caught up in the kelp and Moon Doggie had to save her.  WOW, I think I just had a 30 year old moment! :)  The first of what I think will be many!  hehe! BUT, the noodles are made from the vegetable.  They are made from the two ingredients! Kelp and Water.  How much purer can you get??  They are fat free, gluten free, low in carbs and calories (about 5 calories per serving!)  You can eat them raw, hot, cold… anyway you want to really.  They have some nutritional value as well, with minerals including iodine! Iodine is a great mineral to have because it helps to make thyroid hormones.  Thyroid hormones help to keep the metabolic rate healthy!

I was first introduced to the noddles when I was on a trip to CA.  Being the healthy eater that I am, whenever I am on vacation with my friends they just give me the Type A planning keys and let me plan the meals.  I found this restaurant Hugo‘s online, and we went there for lunch on our first few days. Hugo’s seemed like a great place because while vegetarian they had A LOT on their menu.  We have a VAST palate, and I figured everyone could find something that was “safe” for me!

I ordered a Kelp Noodle Salad.  Well, ever since I ordered this, I had been pining over the want of the kelp noodle!  I tried a few varieties that were green but I knew the clear ones that were out there on the market somewhere! I found them about a year ago online, and then the local store I went to in NY started carrying them!  LOVE my Sea Tangle Kelp Noodles!

You can buy them online now at their site and even amazon.  They come in a green tea flavor too.  I’ve never tried that before!  If you have, please let me know what you think! :)

I posted the kelp noodles as my “treat” yesterday!  Now that I have a job, I felt a little more comfortable going and buying them for a lovely Tuesday indulgence!

I did have someone on my IG comment and ask how do i prepare them???

So I decided to do a little research!

When I had them at Hugos, they were prepared with Served with julienne vegetables, sprouts, snow peas, cilantro and scallions. Tossed with a mango-sesame dressing. Garnished with mixed sea vegetables, pickled ginger and toasted sesame seeds.

Sea Tangle has a few recipes, and the one that looks fab is their Stir Fry!

KELP NOODLE AND VEGETABLE STIR FRY
12 ounces Kelp Noodles
½ cup onion
½ cup bean sprouts
½ cup carrots
½ cup red bell pepper
½ cup mushrooms
1 tsp garlic, minced
1 Tbsp olive oil
Tamari or soy sauce, to taste
Dash of sugar or sugar alternative, to taste
Dash of salt and pepper
½ cup vegetable broth or water

Sautee the garlic in the olive oil. Add the vegetables and sautee until cooked. Add the rinsed Kelp Noodles along with the soy sauce, sugar, and broth and mix. Sautee until the noodles have softened. Add salt and pepper to taste.” ***Just be sure the Soy is gluten free!

The Greatist also has a great recipe for Kelp Noodles with Almond Dressing!?!!  YUM!!

For those craving something with some fish!  Cara’s cravings featured a recipe for shrimp and veggies with the noodles.  You really cannot go wrong with shrimp and noodles.  Heck, they are from the same body of water! They already go together!

And for those going for a little trip to FLAVOR TOWN! The Spunky Coconut did a recipe for the noodles with Thai Coconut Curry!!

I can certainly say, from experience.  Anyway you cook them, you will LOVE them.  They have this crunch about them that those who love textured foods will fall in <3!  Personally, my favorite way to cook them is to actually roast them with my veggies and my Kale chips.  I usually throw them on a pan, spray with a little oil, and then top with seasoning and nutritional yeast.  Put in the oven and roast them for 10-15 minutes.  They get a little brown and warm!  Then I throw them in a bowl with a salad or some other roasted veggies!

Have you ever tried kelp noodles?

If you have, how have you prepared them?  Or what is your favorite way to eat them?

Have you ever had something on a trip that you have thought about for months after eating it?

oxo!

signature

2 thoughts on “Kelp Noodles <3!!

Leave a Reply

