I’ve never been a “me”, I’ve always been a “we”…

Did you know I was a twin?  Yup.  Identical.  I’m the older one, by a mere 60 seconds.

  Image

Neat fact… my parents didn’t even know they were having twins until about a month before we were born.  I’m not quite sure how no one asked questions considering my mom was a peanut and was HUUUGGGEEE!  Per stories from my family she got stuck in doorways in a MG Midget!

So the reason I mention that I’m a twin.  Two actually.  First, it’s our BIRTHDAY!  Golden Birthday to be exact.  Have you ever heard of a golden birthday?  Apparently it’s when you turn your birthday on the date of your birthday.  For example, this year we are 31 on the 31st!  (Oh yah, we are also New Year’s babies! Double tax write off for my papa!)

twins current

Second reason I mention it is because I came to a huge realization this past week.  I was telling someone about me and I kept referring to myself as “we” in my past history.  It wasn’t until about 10 minute into the conversation the person I was talking to asked, “who is we?”  I quickly replied “oh, my sister and i.” It was at that moment that I realized that I will never be a ME.  I never have been, and never will be.  I have always been a WE.  I know that we have grown, and separated.  We live on separate coasts of the United States, and she is now married and creating her own new family.  But we will always be intertwined as a “WE”.  She is my soulmate.

Yes, I hope to have a “love” someday that will be my soulmate, that person that I will love more than myself.  However, my twin sister and I have a different bond.  It’s almost as much for me to say that I can’t breathe without her.  She is my other half, my best friend, sometimes my worst enemy… But I know that I am 150% certain that she was put on this earth for me, and I for her.

We have gone through some difficult times in our lives, and have always had to lean on each other.  I know that there is no way that I could have gotten through my life without my sister.  She played devil’s advocate MORE times than I can count, she calls me on everything I do wrong, she lifts me up when I need it, and she would fly across the country if I needed it.  Heck, most times with our “twin” powers, she doesn’t even need a call from me, she just knows when I need her….

Image

I just wanted to write my first blog post in a LONG time in thanks to her.

Sissy, we have spent 31 years together.  You are creating your new family, and I am just blessed that you include me in that.  I cannot wait to celebrate our birthday together this year!

I’ll be there soon.

oxo.

signature

Leave a comment