Week 1 Shakeology results!

Happy Monday!!!  I hope you all had a great weekend!

This is how we felt around my home…

Had to share that photo! Too cute and poetic after our weekend around here NOT to share!!

I wanted to share my first weeks results for my Vegan Shakeology Chocolate flavor. 

I was a little excited about trying this stuff out!

Before I get into my “results”, I should probably explain myself.  My “results” won’t be the normal before/after photos.  This products is amazing for weight loss!  However, I have reached my goal for my current weight, and am using this product for another condition.  But, I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t a great tool for weight management!

I still LOVE the flavor!!! I have had a shake almost everyday, and when I don’t, I supplement the shake for an item that I’ve baked.  I’ve even added it as my protein powder in my puff pancake! Extra YUMMY with a little peanut flour added in!!

When I went away last weekend I made mini protein muffins with the Shakeology and egg whites… they ended up being about 50 calories each! SCORE! These are great for those moments when you just want to eat something rather than drink it.

I also made Chalene Johnson’s Shakeology Protein Balls! DOUBLE YUMMY!

So back to WHY I’M USING SHAKEOLOGY! Digestion!! This is an honest story, and may be TMI for some of you.  I apologize ahead of time.

I have had tummy troubles since I was in high school.  I think a lot of it stemmed from stress.  My mom had been sick since my sister and I were 7 years old.  When you watch a parent go through the ups and downs of an illness that was thought to be terminal is difficult.  Heck, it’s difficult in my 20’s, I’m not sure how my sister and I handled it at 7 years old!  But we did.  I always had upset stomachs, and fluctuations in my stomach status.  I was diagnosed with IBS at a young age and put on medication.  The meds were a waste of $$!  I had no relief!  I ended up having a colonoscopy at the age of 20!  That was my first one, yes I’ve had more than one!  Ick!  (PS the procedure, not so bad… the prep is the worst!).

I only stayed on the medication for about a year before figuring it was a waste of my hard worked waitressing money.  I just figured this would be my life.  It wasn’t until 2009 that I had heard about Elizabeth Hasselbeck’s story.  I was walking around Barnes & Noble one day, and I saw her book, “The GFree Diet” on the shelf.  I picked it up and started reading and thought to myself “NO WAY! She’s telling MY story!!!”.  I bought the book, went home, and read it cover to cover in about 2 hours.  I started my research on gluten allergies.  I even called my doctor who was as old as the original rug on the floor of the 19th century office! He said there was no treatment and that it was a “fad diet”.  But, if I wanted to see if I had an allergy my best bet was to give up the foods.  He also mentioned something about dairy intolerance.  Now, I was the girl that ate a Greek Yogurt once a day.  I loved my yogurt!!!!  But, I was willing to make the sacrifice.  I mean it was yogurt, or glutenous foods!  I figured the dairy was the easier of the two.  I bought myself some Lactaid and threw out my goodies.  I did have some relief.  It lasted about 3 weeks.  So I started to eat dairy again.  My frustration level had reached it’s max.  ::sigh::

What did I have to lose at this point?? So gluten it was!!  Bye bye bread, bye bye tortillas, bye bye cereal… I said goodbye to a lot of my favorite foods, but for relief, it was worth it.  It worked.  It took a little over a month, but my body finally evened out.  My digestion was much more regular.  However, I noticed I was still bloated beyond belief at the end of the day.  When I would wake up in the morning, I had no issues.  Flat tummy, happy belly.  I would eat my yogurt at lunchtime, and no fail by 3 pm, I looked 3 months pregnant and had horrible pains… It took this smarty pants a few months to realize the two went hand in hand.  I think it was sort of more denial than anything!  Who wants to give up BOTH gluten and dairy!  What else would I have left to eat?? eeekK!!

But, I did! Since 2010 I have been entirely gluten and dairy free.  If I feel like I’m going to get into trouble with cross contamination, I always have a Lactaid handy.  I had noticed in the last 2 years, my digestion was on a stormy path again.  I know that I have had some stressful life moments in the last few years.  My mom died,  I moved in with my dad, my twin sister moved across the country, had  a breakup… It was like life’s changes happened all at once.  Stress really does NOT do a body good!  I was able to get an appt with a great Gastroenterologist last year and she did the best she could.  She reassured me that I did not have what my mom did! (reliEF!) but that I had IBS. Lovely!  She said the best thing she could recommend was another diet, but at 29, I’d already given up enough! !

I was left to live with my moments of active IBS! Which is unfortunately, more often than not… aka the consistent bloated, pained stomach most days.  I tried some digestive enzymes, which have helped a lot!  I take them before I eat, but that can’t be that great for my body? To take enzymes every meal?

I’ve heard that Shakeology has wonderful benefits with digestion.  Now that they have an “Eiren friendlY” vegan variety,  I thought, why not? Check another thing off the try list!  I have been using it for a week now and I can “feel” a difference.  I noticed the first few days that I definitely felt more “regular”.  However, based on my research prior to purchase, this is normal for the first few days.  I have had increased energy, and at the end of the week had replaced my 3 pm coffee with my Shakeology!

I have also noticed that I don”t look like a pregnant wannabe anymore! My flat tummy prevailed, and passed the 4 pm test!  No bloat after day 5! NO BLOAT!!

I can’t wait to see where we go from here… but right now that was the BEST $$ SPENT!! I’ll keep you posted on the rest of my “results”!!

Do you have IBS?  Have you ever had success with treatment (prescription or natural)?  If so, what worked for you???

Leave a Reply

