My first Blog Survey! & A GIVEAWAY!!

Hey all,

As I mentioned before, I am an avid follower of blogs!!  I just saw Cait on www.beyond-bananas.com did a This or That Fitness Post! I hope she doesn’t mind, but I thought it was a great questionnaire!

This or That?

1.  Run/workout in the heat and humidity or freezing temps and snow?

I workout inside most of the time with my DVDs.  I do workout in a basement, so I would have to say I prefer the cold temps.  Humidity is always a struggle.  We have a dehumidifier in the basement and if I wasn’t working out at 4:20 am I would empty it before I exercise.  However, some days, I only have enough in me to get through the DVD.

I just don’t possess that extra umph when I’m doing my workouts in the humidity.  I also don’t go for my daily walks with the fumbs (my 185 lb newfie) on humid days.  He can’t handle anything over about 70 degrees in the sun.  So we walk at 4:45 am on the weekends, or late at night after sunset.

2. Have washboard abs or flat abs?

I have washboard abs!  And I continue to work hard for ‘em!!  I think flat is great, don’t get me wrong!!  I just prefer to feel strong!  Plus I have HORRIBLE back issues! Every 6 months I have a tendency to throw out my back.  The Physical Therapists always encouraged me to “work my core”.

3. Dr. Oz or The Doctors?

Unfortunately, I work during the day so I’m not able to watch.  However, from what I’ve seen, I prefer The Doctors. A. the one guy has a relationship to the Bachelor! HehE, and B. I like the variety of the other MDS.  They have some extra stuff to bring to the show!

4. Cardio or strength?

You know, I always used to think that strength training was bulky.  However, when I did my first round of Chalean Extreme, I was ASTOUNDED as the results.  Ever since then, I’ve tried to integrate some strength into my weekly routine.  I tried some of the body weight barre videos and I enjoyed the nice variety.  However, I have turned back to my weights and I LOVE the results.

Cardio?? I am a CARDIO JUNKIE!! I’m not much of a runner, but give me a HIIT, plyo or kickboxing class and I’m in it to win it!!  I work a desk job, so I’m sitting more than 7 hours a day.  It’s crucial to not only my mental health but fitness to get my booty shaking at least once a day!

5. Cravings: Protein or carbs?

:sigh: I miss carbs.  Since going gluten free, my carbs are pretty limited.  I can eat rice and the gluten free products, but a lot of them seem to have extra sugar mixed in.  I “try” to avoid excess sugars in my foods, so I’ve sort of turned a blind eye on the carb world.  I am obsessed with protein.  I find myself craving it.  I used to be a vegetarian for 20 years, but since starting to lift weights, my body almost asks for it!  I usually eat a boat load of egg whites, almonds, salmon, and I’ve introduced some lean turkey into my diet.  I also love protein powders with nutrition to help out with what I may be missing in my normal diet.

6. Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper?

Bob! He’s so cute!!! J I would definitely take orders from  him!!!

7. Frozen Yogurt or Ice Cream?

I can’t have either!!! L Dairy free girl! I make my own “fro-yo” with the Yonanas! Have you heard of that yet? AAWWEEESOMee!! But if I remember my old days, it would be soft serve ice cream twist, in a cone, dipped, plopped in a dish!

8. To train: Upper body or Lower body?

I love to train my shoulders.  They are, by far, my favorite body part.  My least favorite body part has to be my inner thighs, so I’m usually working them as well.  But, my favorite is upper!

9. Protein powder or food with protein?

I find a happy balance with both.  It’s hard with my allergies to find a “good” tasting protein powder.  I like my Shakeology and the SunWarrior Raw Natural and Vanilla varieties.  I usually will do a protein at lunch and my Shakeology as a an afternoon snack or a protein pancake or waffle for dinner.

Introducing Chocolate Vegan ShakeologySunwarrior Protein Natural Raw Vegan  Gluten Free 2.2 lbs

10. Lunges or squats? 

I enjoy both, but I LOVE one legged squatS!!

11. Sweet or salty?

I used to have a sweet tooth, but I’m not sure where it went!??! I prefer more of the tart sweets now.  I probably crave more salt lately.  I think maybe because of my constant sweating due to the humidity.  (Sorry, was that gross?? Lol)

12. Workout attire: cute or comfy?

Is it weird that I purchase nice workout clothes to wear out and then my grungy clothes to exercise in?  I bought stuff to go to Denver to visit my twin, and I have yet to wear it to exercise because I don’t want the cute stuff to get dirty!??!

13. Body Pump or Heavy lifting?

I’ve done both! I just finished the round of Les Mills Body Pump, which is more endurance training.  I did enjoy it, but I think my ❤ lies in heavy lifting!!!

14. Yoga or Pilates?

Can I say a mix of both?  I like the barre classes that integrate a little of both, Pilates moves, then stretch in between movements.  I like that you have an opportunity to work both fitness regimens in one workout.

15. Nike or Adidas?

I love Nike Gear, but my feet don’t work in their sneakers.  Does this happen to anyone else? I’m so bummed too because THEY HAVE SUCH CUTE STUFF!!! I actually wear more Asics than adidas though.  I remember Adidas being big when I was in high school.

16. Running on the treadmill or outdoors?

When I have done my running, it’s usually been indoors.  There was a spurt that I was clocking about 6 miles every other day.  I would love to know where that person went? Hmm??  But I was usually watching the NY Giants.  They’re added motivation! I get a little riled up when watching those boys play!

17. Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s?

We don’t have either where I live, but apparently they’re both “coming”!??  I miss Trader Joes more than anything.  That was my favorite store when I lived on Cape Cod.  The variety was always great and they changed stuff up!  However, I do LOVE the salad bars at Whole Foods!!

18. Summer or Winter Olympics?

Summer Olympics!  I have :shame faced:: not been able to watch much of them this year, but there were summers where I would record everything.  I always remember being VERY into swimming.  Must have been those boys!??!

19. Exercises classes or Exercise videos?

Videos! Obsessed with my DVDs. Not just my usual Dvd’s either, i’ve got Physique 57, Booty Barre, Tracy Anderson… the whole rigamarole!

Most of the live classes are not the ones that I would like to take, and if they are they’re always during my work day! Why is that??? I would love to take a life TurboKick Class but there are none offered in my area L Boo!!

20. Steamed veggies or roasted veggies?

Roasted, and CRISPY!! My coworker and I are mildly obsessed with crispy foods.  I prefer my veggies roasted, crispy, almost on the brink of burnt.  I also think this comes from my mom! She used to love her food that way.

Do you enjoy surveys?? I remember in my Myspace days I used to do them ALL the time!!! 🙂

Giveaway!!!

Have you ever wanted to try Peanut Flour???

1lb_Peanut_Flour_Package_solo

I’m giving away a bag of the Protein Plus Peanut Flour!!  To enter all you have to do is:

“Like” my Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/FitNTrimTwiN/102000219946487  and mention what you would do with your Peanut flour??**

I’ll be picking a winner by next Friday 8/9/2012!!

*open only to Residents of the United States*

2 thoughts on “My first Blog Survey! & A GIVEAWAY!!

  1. I just got my first bag of PB2 and wondered if peanut flour was the same? I’d use it for baking protein granola bars and add it to my smoothies for taste!

Leave a Reply

