A wish and a prayer…

Have you ever made a decision 100% on a wish and a prayer?  I start my new life tomorrow.  The UNEMPLOYED one!! I am officially done with my last job.  While I loved what I did and the amazing volunteers I got to work with on a daily basis, I wasn’t happy.  We spend a third of our life at our jobs.  Why should we spend 1/3 of our life being unhappy?  So, I decided to make the change.

I also have decided to not only leave my employment in this economy (currently slamming head against wall for stupidity), but I have also decided to make a life change.  I have lived most of my adult life caring for others, or living somewhere to “be there” for another person.  I moved here right after my mom died to live with my dad.  I would not change a thing.  I think our relationship has only grown and he has become my best friend, a role my mother held for a very long time.  However, we need to grow and I think we have become each others ‘crutch”.  So, I have decided to move.  On my own.  Something I have never done!  I lived with my sister for 5 years on Cape Cod, but we lived in our parents home.  We paid them, but that’s not the same as going off on your own and paying rent, utilities, etc.  Well, I guess I kind of did that on the Cape, but it’s different when it’s your parents! There is a safety net.  No more net.  I’ve been applying to jobs for 6 months, but got no bites.  What Non-profit is going to call a girl for an interview when she lives 4.5 hours away, and has 4 weeks notice to give?  I did A LOT  of soul searching, and that’s when I came to the conclusion it was time to give my notice.

Do you believe in signs?  As SOON as I gave my notice, I got a call about an interview.  I didn’t get the job, but still.  And then there were 3 other opportunities that were met my exact skill set after that.  Things also remarkably fell into place for my dad.  He’s had a really tough 2.5 years since my mom died.  And things seem to be taking a turn for the better for him too.  It was weird, it was like she was playing my cheerleader from heaven.  A role that she used to play when she was here on earth.

So here I am, unemployed, and now I wait!  Waiting to hear back from some bites I have out there.  BUT, I have all the faith that everything happens for a reason, and it will all work itself out! I just have to play my role in life, and it will happen!  Whatever “it” is, I don’t know, but I do trust “it’s” going to be pretty amazing!

I’m just a little bird, with wings spread out far, I just have to learn how to fly with them now!

Have you ever taken a leap of faith and done something completely out of your comfort zone? 

Leave a Reply

