Protein recipe with a dash of crazy setting in

So, I’ve only been unemployed from my full time job for a hot second and I’ve already got ants in my pants!  I’m giving myself till the end of the week.  If i don’t hear back from anyone about any other job prospects, I’ll have to do something.  I’m by no means a sitter!

I also think the more I “sit” or have little to do, the more I think.  Have you ever become a prisoner of your own mind?  It’s no wonder I’m so “fit”.  I focus my bored attention to fitness and staying healthy!  I know the decision I made was the RIGHT one for me.  I know it.  Now, I just have to actually BELIEVE it!

This past weekend, my dad and I went to the Cape to visit with my Nanny.  She’s got a bit of dementia setting in, rather quick I might add, so it was good to go visit her.  While we were there, we decided to say “hello” to my mom.  She’s been gone for 2 1/2 years now.  One of her most favorite places to be was at the beach.  My dad and I have gotten into the habit of saying “hi” to her by sending balloons up with a note attached.  We were FINALLY together at the beach, so we did just that.

We also took a little photo of us!  Some nice stranger stopped to grab one of Fumble, dad and I.

After that was where trouble ensues.  My 185 Lb newfie decided he DID NOT want to get in the car.  After 45 minutes of trying to go up his “steps”, I had remembered seeing a nice young strapping chap running down the beach.  West Dennis beach ends, there’s no where to go, so I knew he had to make his way BACK towards us.  We waited, and waited. Finally he showed up.  I politely apologized for ruining his workout, but said I could add some extra lifting to it if he wanted.  So, the three of us lifted Fumble into the car.  The guy and I in the front legs, Dad with the tail!  I should say i’m embarrassed, but I’m not.  This is not the first time I have had to ask someone for assistance.  ::Shaking head::

I love that darn dog!

Now onto my recipe!!  I got creative last week with some inspiration from A Dash of Meg and Sprint2TheTable with their ‘custard’ recipes.  I also love my carrot pudding from GlutenFreeHappyTummy.  Why not make my own little Fall creation!!

Carrot Tofu Protein Pudding with Pumpkin! Makes two small snacks or 1 meal

  • Ingredients:  1/4 C Carrots (steamed), 1/4 Pumpkin Puree, 1/4 inch slice of tofu (i used low calorie firm), Dash of Oriental 5 spice, 1/2 scoop Protein Powder, 2 Tablespoons of Cranberries.

Directions:  Steam your carrots.  I’m a microwave queen and use the Ziploc baggies. Add your carrots, tofu, pumpkin and use the hand mixer to blend.  Then stir in cranberries, spices and protein powder.  Put in the fridge and voila Thanksgiving Vegan style! 🙂

**If you don’t like tofu, you can put in 2 tablespoons of raw soaked cashews instead.

Is fall your favorite time of year?  What’s your favorite fall meal/recipe??

Do you struggle sometimes to believe that “everything happens for a reason”??

2 thoughts on “Protein recipe with a dash of crazy setting in

  1. I definitely struggle with that believe sometimes. A lot has happened in my life (sad things) and it’s hard to keep the faith. Slowly I’m regaining my faith though 🙂 It just takes some times. I do love to believe everything happens for a reason – as I do believe actually – it just doesn’t make the pain any less though. On a brighter note; that apple picking looks awesome 😉 I still have to do that some day too! It looks a lot of fun + fresh apples… can’t go wrong with those 😉
    Love, Leanne

    • I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had some bumps in your road with faith. I can admit that I was mad at the big guy for a long time! But I’m back, and I think my challenged faith made it stronger.
      And, I agree with you, why is that “everything happens for a reason” is so darn easy to say, but even more difficult to believe in the moment? I am prey to saying it at moments, but it’s not a band aid to someone else’s grief!
      Happy Apple Picking!!! If you need to get some frustration out, throw it on the ground and stomp on it! 🙂 It’s okay to have a 2 year old hissy fit every once in a while!

Leave a Reply

