Did you know that Yams and SWeet Potatoes are different??

Well, today was my Day 3 of P90x!  Arms and Shoulders!  EEekk..  I love shoulders day!  Lateral raises are by far my FAVORITE exercise!!  I survived!!!  I got about 23 on each side, both rounds of the side tricep push ups!!  ::Pat on the back:: 😛

I still struggled with a no cardio day though!!  Will I ever get over this?  I had the time,so  I threw in a 20 Minute HIIT.  What’s 20 minutes?  I probably amped up my weights workout as well!!
Oh and then, I had to end the morning with Ab Ripper X.  That was MUCH harder the second time around???!!!??

So before I get to my debate about sweet potatoes and yams, I must share my experiment/recipe inspiration from yesterday!

I saw on Caralyn’s @Glutenfreehappytummy‘s a recipe for Beet pudding a week or so ago.  I LOVED and am still in love with her Carrot pudding, so I figured I loved beets, I had a beet, why not make it!!  I did sub the cashews for Tofu though.  If you like beets, i HIGHLY recommend this!!! I made mine with a Golden Beet, so that’s why it’s not red!  Use what you have, right??!

So back to my debate!  I was at the grocery store the other day and all they had were yams.  I had heard on a Podcast once that there is a difference between a yam and a sweet potato.  If I remember correctly, the Podcast speaker had a whole book about it!??!

I LOVE orange vegetables, sweet potatoes, squash.. you name it! I make sweet potato chips every day! EVERY DAY!!  When I saw that the store didn’t have sweet potatoes, but “yams”, I was a little crestfallen, but I wasn’t driving to another store!  Gas is over $4 a gallon.  So i acquiesced, and bought the yams.  I shocked the guy behind me at the register when I said there was a difference! But, Uck!  I know that yams are rare here, but this was not the same as my usual sweet potatoes. Do not crisp up the same, and the taste is just not there.

So that got me to thinking, what actually is the difference between a sweet potato and a yam… here’s what I found!

Yams are thick, white and tubular, with rough skin and have little flavor.  They aren’t even related to the sweet potato! There are over 600 varieties of yams and 95% of the crop is grown in Africa. Sweet Potatoes or are orange fleshed with a smooth skin.  They originally came to the United States from South America.  Sweet potatoes are rich and sweet in flavor.

Self. com states that: As you can see on NutritionData.com, the sweet potato (which is related to the morning glory) is lower in calories, has a lower glycemic load, and is much higher in beta-carotene than the yam, which belongs to the lily family.  As a result, a serving of sweet potato is considered to be moderately anti-inflammatory, while a serving of yams is moderately inflammatory.

Yams aren’t so bad though!  They do have Vitamin C and folate in them.  They are usually carried at International grocery stores and are usually larger than the sweet potato.  Yams can actually be as long as an arm, and are usually cut into chunks at the grocery store.

So why did I get a weird Sweet Potato labeled a yam?? There are a variety of sweet potatoes out there!!  Some include Jewel, Hanna, Garnet, Japanese to name a few common ones.  I’m pretty sure my favorite is the Garnet, which is the typical orange color, with a molasses flavor.  Hannah is a little more white-ish, and tastes the least sweet, a little like honey.  The Jewel is the most sweet, and has a thin and moist texture.  Japanese is actually yellow inside.

So I guess that answers my question!  I got a variety of a sweet potato, “dressed up” with a label of a yaM!  Putting Halloween costumes on vegetables is NOT acceptable Grocery Store!

Did you know there were varieties of sweet potatoes?

Do you prefer sweet potatoes, or the red/white/blue variety??

**Thanks to Self.com for helping me with the info on this!!**

One thought on “Did you know that Yams and SWeet Potatoes are different??

Leave a Reply

