P90X Progress and a “Diet” Decision

Happy Sunday!! I hope you are all enjoying the day!  I know that Sunday is typically the day of “rest”, and i am not resting, but not after kicking my butt with pushups today!  I have finally entered Phase 2 of P90X!  Today was the Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps workout.  I can now state that I am fully aware of why people grunt at the gym.  When you’re working HARD, and you to stop or put the weights down, it’s sheer loveliness and you can’t help but breathe! I am pretty sure i won’t be able to feel my chest tomorrow though, no more pushups!

Here is my update from Month 1!

Week 3 Progress:

Week 4:

I should also say that I have started to incorporate some of my Turbofire workouts back in!  I missed them so much! 😛  I’m such a cardio junkie.

I will say, i have noticed my abs are much more tight!  I still have that stupid lower belly bloat.  Stupid IBS!  But this is where my diet decision comes in to play.  Hold that thought… want to stay on P90 for a moment!

So because I’m doing the TurboFire, I think I will stay with Classic for this round.  I was thinking of going to doubles, but if i’m doing intense cardio, there is no need.  I have read TOO MANY TIMES from other gals doing intense lifting and gym workouts that cardio is not necessary every day.  So, for now, i’m sticking with classic!!  I also intend to implement this new diet plan AND my shakeology every single day! I just got a new bag on Friday, and I am going to have a shake or a meal with the shake for 1 meal.  That’s it, i’m sticking to it!!

Okay so onto the diet decision!  Have you ever felt overwhelmed by all the “diet plans” out there?? I hate to call them diets, such a negative connotation to that word.  Heck, Trish Blackwell put it great, the word D I E is in there!  I’m not dying! I’m not going to go on a diet, because diets are temporary, you stop and then almost always gain whatever you lost right back.  I’m eating for a lifestyle… for life! I am just going to call it my EAT FOR LIFE!  So which plan to choose? There are many out there: raw, paleo, vegetarian, low fat, no carb, point programs, cleanses..etc, etc… I’m already gluten and dairy free by requirement, not choice.  Sorry Gluten, i’m just not that into you, OR rather, my body isn’t.

In the last few months, I’ve been toying with the idea of which plan to choose that will help parallel my allergies/sensitivities.  I did a lot of research on the paleo diet, especially because i’m already gluten and dairy free.  I thought it would be an easier transfer.  I basically already eat that way, however I don’t eat meat, and I feel like a lot of the recipes out there that I get through blogs and email are focused on high protein meats and fats.  I don’t eat meat, so why would I eat lard?? PS. I was surprised by a podcast when they said that lard is full of vitamins.  Who knew!??!! I’m definitely going to keep getting my blog emails and updates about Paleo recipes, because it does make sense!  The Caveman philosophy is very easy to follow!  However…

I was all gung ho to give it a shot with my already in place lifestyle when I wondered across the Eat Clean Diet.  I think it was Kasey at Powercakes that mentioned Tosca Reno in a post.  I recognized Tosca’s face from her book covers!  After reading a little bit, I went to the book store that weekend and perused through her book.  They didn’t have the exact book in her Eat Clean Series that I wanted to buy, so I just sort of stood there in the aisle and read it.  Have you ever done that??  Just stand in an aisle at Barnes and Noble and read?  I almost thought about sitting down right there on the carpet.  I could have found a chair, but there were none around that were available.  So I leaned up beside the bookstand and read…. and read. And I liked what I read!  It seems pretty basic!

Eating Clean is treating your body right.

It is eating the way nature intended. You eat the foods our bodies evolved to function best on, and that makes you feel – and look – fantastic. When you Eat Clean you eat more often. You will eat lean protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats. These practices keep your blood-sugar levels stable and keep you satisfied. The best part is that if you need to lose weight it will happen almost without you having to try. And yes, you can have a treat now and again.

Best of all, Eating Clean keeps you feeling great and full of energy. In fact, you can forget all about the days when “dieting” meant feelings of hunger, lethargy or deprivation.

Eating Clean is not a fad; it’s a way of life. When you Eat Clean your body will react by losing weight if you need to lose, maintaining a healthy weight if that’s where you are, and even gaining weight if you are too skinny. But regardless of whether you want to lose, maintain or gain, you will feel better than you ever have before.

I now have my plan in placE!! I ordered the book I wanted, and am going 100% into this!  I have researched the site and already saved some of my favorite recipes!  Eating Clean just seems to natural and most of all EASY!! No calorie counting, no points, just eating REAL food!  🙂

PLUS, I also heard the beautiful Chalene Johnson on a live webcast re-state something I have heard over and over again.  ABS ARE MADE IN THE KITCHEN.  Her words, if you eat clean then you really don’t need to do ab workouts. I completely agree with this statement! I eat mostly clean already, however even when I overeat on healthy foods I feel bloated and gross.  Why do I always want to feel bloated and gross?  So that’s what I’m taking a change!  A. to not feel bloated and gross, B. to have a great support system for healthy meals, and C. to just keep working on those flat abS! 😛  I don’t workout every day for an hour or longer to sabotage my results! Otherwise, it’s a waste of time!!  We only get so few precious moments on this earth, might as well feel my best and make them count!!  🙂
Do you follow a healthy eating plan?

Are you a clean eater?  What is your favorite recipe??

Leave a Reply

