Don’t you love the smell of Fall Goodies? So does your body!

Happy November!! 🙂  I hope you all enjoyed a safe and happy Halloween!!

Were you able to fight off the sugar?  I did it!! I did.  And that’s a big deal for me.  I usually will always indulge in a little, but i figured i was going to go BIG this year and JUST SAY NO! Phew, glad that’s over!!  Halloween and Easter are the most difficult holidays for me to not go overboard.

November, and the Fall is my favorite time of year.  Minus the raking the leaves.  Ugh, don’t you hate that?  I wish i had my polar calorie monitor when I used to rake! I’m sure i burnt probably well over 2000 calories total in my escapades out there with the pine needles on Cape Cod.  I used to rake about 3 times a fall, and then once in the spring.  Many, many trips to the local dump with leaves!

I also love November because it always reminds me to give thanks.  I am thankful first and foremost for my 3 F’s, family, friends and fumble.  I am thankful to my dad and sister because they are the lights of my life.  I am thankful to my best friends because they are the giggles. And I am thankful for Fumble because he is my best listener and bodyguard, and bear rug, and lovebug!

One of my FAVORITE things has to be the smells of fall.  I’m a big smell person because they evoke memories to me.  My mom ALWAYS used to bake, so I have the fondest memories of cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice… You would always open the door to my house and be offered a treat and hit with a waft of heart warming scents.  I find that I now gravitate towards these flavors in my own cooking. I pretty much eat a buttercup or kabhoca squash roasted and covered in pumpkin pie spice every day!  Ginger has to be one of my favorites!  Yum!!

Well, I got to thinking, I know there are medicinal effects of most foods out there, spices included! I put together a graphic to show what the health benefits are of the favorite fall flavors!!

Spices are also an EXCELLENT way to add flavor without the guilt! 😛

What are you most thankful for this November?

What is your favorite fall spice??

4 thoughts on “Don’t you love the smell of Fall Goodies? So does your body!

  1. Robert says:

    Im interested in the holidays spices, I have question on how much and Wht you can eat it with…??? Ginger, nutmeg, ..
    I’m on instagram , profile limelight73
    I’m trying to look for natural remedies than over the counter items … Thank you and hope to hear from you soon!!

    • Hey, i usually just use a dash here and there with a bunch of foods. You sort of have to experiment with what you like and don’t. I know some people hate cloves and ginger, i like them! I’ll add them to whatever i’m baking, squash, protein shakes… you name it! the possibilities are endless. I’m not sure i would 100% use them as a remedy, make sure you check with your PCP before that!! But they’re definitely good for added health benefits!

Leave a Reply

