Happy New Year rung in with a little champs salsa!

Happy Happy Happy New Year!! (and I have to say, a HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY TWIN SISSY!)  We turned the BIG 3-0 yesterday. Yikes! hehe!

collage_2012-12-31_06-16-31

I hope all of you had a safe and wonderful evening.  I what I wish, even more, is for a wonderful 2013 for you.  I was watching Piers Morgan the other morning and he had Pastor Rick Warren on.  Pastor Rick made a profound statement. Piers had asked him about the holidays and people who have had something bad happen.  Pastor Rick said that the easiest way to get over a bad memory surrounded by a holiday is to create a new positive memory.  I think that statement can be shifted beyond a holiday, and put onto the New Year.

New Year’s are blank slates.  We get to start anew.  No, we don’t erase our pasts, or forget the people that hurt us, struggles we had, or the ones we lost.  We will always carry those things in our hearts.  BUT, the important thing is to move beyond them.  Don’t let them control you, or those situations dictate your life.  You are the one that holds the key to your body, mind and soul.  Yes, I believe we have a bigger power who knows our master plan, BUT, we need to drive the car!  Without us driving it, we will stay in idle, neutral on a flat land.

A beautiful Tone it Up girl from IG, Stephytonesitup posted this photo yesterday and it was such a profound quote.

Write your next chapter… I am….

Well, okay now to my lil creation!  I think this is the first recipe i’ve come up with in a long time.  (i usually get into a habit and eat the same things day after day..)
I have the #elf4health challenge and Elle and Lindsay to thank for this one.  I was invited by my beautiful BFF and her hubby to spend New Years with them.  I wanted to make something that was healthy, festive, fun and something I could eat!  There are so few items on that list!

I came up with….

Watermelon Cranberry Champs Salsa!

2-3 cups chopped watermelon (seedless)1 c cranberries that I put in the Magic Bullet to chop
2-3 T jalapeno (diced, no seeds)
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup champagne
2 T lime juice
diced avocado (not shown)

Super easy! Mix!  Add the avocado at the end and serve!

Happy New Year!

Make 2013 Amazing!

oxo

signature

One thought on “Happy New Year rung in with a little champs salsa!

Leave a Reply

