My Shakeology Muffin!

I recently posted a photo of my Shakeology Microwave muffin that I make and I have decided to blog the recipe!

I make a LOT of crazy recipes and I never know if they taste good or not.  Maybe some of my other gluten free, dairy free folks can relate? But i feel like i’m so used to eating weird foods, i could eat cardboard and it would probably taste good!

I came up with my Muffin recipe because i am a psychological eater. I need to chew food.  I can have a smoothie, or even soups, but psychologically i don’t feel satisfied if there is nothing to “chew” on.  I almost always feel unsatisfied and will find something else to eat, defeating the whole purpose of the smoothie!  I don’t know if anyone else has this problem?  But i realized it in my reflection of my eating patternS!  Chewing means a meal to me!  😛

I gave the recipe to another one of my fav bloggers Sara from Workout Brussels Sprouts, and she liked it!  And then I finally convinced my dad to buy Shakeology and try it!

Shakeology is a protein powder/meal replacement shake that is sold by Beachbody.  I am a Beachbody Coach and really LOVE the product.  Being that with my IBS, veggies seem to cause flair ups, i know there are days that I don’t get enough fruits and veggies.  I also know that my body needs extra calcium, so i love that i can get that benefit as well.  I purchase the chocolate vegan flavor, as i cannot have dairy either.  It’s one of the best tasting powders out there for me.

I know that everyone has their own favorites, heck, i also have other over the counter powders that i love, ie. Sunwarrior Vegan Raw.  FAVORITE too!!!

Well, i was worried because i noticed my dad hasn’t been eating 100% great. I’m home and watch what he eats, and i had a sit down, heart to heart with him, that i’m already without a mother, i would prefer not to be a lost child, so he needs to start taking care of himself.  He figured it was worth a shot.  Well, to introduce him to it! I made him my Shakeology Muffin that i eat every morning.  He has A VERY PICKY PALATE.  For someone who is very “vanilla” and meat and potatoes, you’d think he has a side job as a five star critic.  I would get him cupcakes back in NY from places renowned for their bakery pieces, and he was respond “eh, it’s okay”.  I was a little nervous yesterday morning.  But, after one bite, he LOVED it!!  He loves that not only can it satisfy a nutritional need, but also the chocolate craving!

You’ve all probably seen recipes floating around the internet with different microwave muffins.  I actually got my base recipe from a few sites…  and it was more for my Protein Waffles.  I started to have trouble with bananas, which i usually use, and tried to substitute pumpkin puree instead.  It worked great!!  So…. here is my Shakeology Muffin recipe! And the best thing about it, IT’S EASY! i make it the night before and just pop it in to warm it up for breakfast!

1/4 C Egg Whites

1/4 C Pumpkin Puree (or a mashed banana)

1/4 C water, almond milk, or i actually like to use the flavor Polar Seltzer waters

1 Scoop Shakeology

I spray a little container with some coconut oil cooking spray, mix everything together and then pop it in the microwave for 3-4 minutes.  Depends on your microwave!

Simple as that!!

I will sometimes add some flavor drops (i get mine from Netrition).  And i will usually top it with Peanut flour (i use Protein Plus Peanut Flour, also available from Netrition.  there is NO added sugar to that brand).

I have tried to use other protein powders and they come up “gummy’ after taking them out of the microwave.  Shakeology is by far the BEST tasting and consistency of them all with my recipe!

I’ve also used the Vegan Tropical too!  Great with fruit!

If you have any questions about my experience with Shakeology please feel free to message me!!

What is your favorite Microwave Muffin recipe???

What’s your favorite protein powder?

Leave a Reply

