making a belly change….

Hey all!!! OMG, so please don’t shoot me!! I have been SOOOO busy and have completely neglected my poor little blog.  NO MORE… i am back!!!!!

I will do a quick write up about what i’ve been up to in the last few months….

but here is my new blog on my belly change!

New food rules for me!! I have been STTRRUUUGGLING with too much food at dinner.  It’s almost 99% more psychological than anything and I am sabotaging all of my hard work.  I heard Trish Blackwell (Trishblackwell.com PS> AMAZING podcastS!) talk about this on her podcast and I’m going to put it into motion… along with all of my other food revisions as well!

Now I just need to plan out WHAT I’m going to eat!?? Lol!

AS SEEN ON TRISH BLACKWELL’S PODCAST!

 HUNGER SCALE

0=starving

1=empty

2=ravenous

3=hungry

4=pangs of hunger

5=neutral                                 4-6 is my “GOAL” zone! and i will be okay if i hit a 7 for now!

6=satisfied

7=full

8=stuffed

9=uncomfortably stuffed

10=sick to my stomach

– See more at: http://www.trishblackwell.com/5-intuitive-eating/#sthash.UZFysw1m.dpuf

What are my other food revisions??

Well. Let met me enlighten!

If you’ve read my past posts, you know that I have issues with IBS, or so that’s what they tell me.  And I am convinced that is because they don’t know what else is wrong with me.  In all of my research, I really should do an elimination diet or the FODMAP to see if I get any relief, however, I feel like a three year old screaming “I don’t want to!”.  I really don’t want to give up anymore.  It’s hard enough being 30, and trying to have a social life and find what you can eat that doesn’t upset your stomach, or makes you look 3 months preggers, OR having to explain yourself EVERy time you eat in front of someone.

I have learned to be confident in my decisions with food.  It is what it is, I can’t change it!  So I am okay with it.  However, after about the third person questioning what you’re eating, or why you’re not eating, or looking at me crazy because I have to send my food back because the order came with croutons even though I asked for it without, can be exhausting! (Almost as exhausting as that sentence.  Wow, do I detect passion in my writing? Lol.)

I have gone through and had success with little pieces of diet plans!

First, I started with the Tone It Up Nutrition Plan.  BEST investment.  Because it really started to help guide me with my gluten free lifestyle.  I was able to integrate dairy free into the plan as well! Plus, losing those last pesky lbs didn’t hurt too much either!!!

To this day, I still follow that plan 80% of the time.  My only pitfall is squash at dinner.  And I usually overeat it!!

I have been going through the motions with the gluten/dairy free lifestyle for a while now.  I know that most people will say that stress and IBS don’t mix.  They don’t!  I had a little hiccup in a diagnosis gone array a month or so ago, and there was quite a bit of grief and stress related to it!  All is better now, however I think my stomach didn’t like my psyche too much during that time!

I did some more research and one of my favorite bloggers, Sarah Koffman @ http://www.sarahkayhoffman.com/ was talking about her ebook one day.  The Gutsy Girls Bible.  If you struggle with any digestion issues, this is a great resource from someone who understands, and has gone through it.  Still going through it too, if you read her blog!

I started reading her book and I began to slowly eliminate things from my diet that way too… I have stopped eating avocados, tomatoes, I try to cook my veggies instead of eating them raw… I don’t eat peppers anymore (RIP salsa!).  However, for all that I gave up, the feeling of eating a meal and not feeling like I am going to float away after is worth the sacrifice!!

I have learned to identify my “triggers”, or foods that I know will show up in symptoms after eating them.

However, along with that ‘stress’ came some old revolving food issues for me.  I didn’t realize it until this Monday.  I have a disordered eating past.  I have definitely come a LONG way and will never return to not eating.  However, I still battle with my relationship.  I don’t think I’ll ever be cured, but just able to deal with it better on a daily basis.  AKA food can’t win.  It doesn’t control me. BUT, I sometimes slip.  And I have realized that I have been ‘overeating’ now.  This morning I woke up with food guilt for the first time in a few months.  And this past 6 months, I have had food guilt at least 3 times.  That’s 3 times too many in my book.  NO ONE should have food guilt.

Okay, so I guess I should back up…. do you know what food guilt is?? www.hercampus.com defines food guilt as a spectrum.  There is your basic food guilt where you indulge in a meal and feel horrible the next day.  Then there is a more serious situation, where after every single meal you feel excessive guilt, shame or potential regret.  When I was in my disordered eating phase, every meal had food guilt. It is no way to live.  No person should feel any bit of shame for eating a meal!  Or feel badly for fueling their body.  It took me a LONG time to get over that guilt, so even when it rears its ugly head in a non serious way I get cautious.

Well, when I realized this, I thought about what can I do to change it?  If I stay the same, then I will probably go down a path that I will not like myself for.  And life is just WAY TOO SHORT not to like yourself!!  So I have made a decision to try another technique!  This grade my hunger thing!  I am going to go back to eating my 6 meals a day, which I have sort of gotten away from, and I am going to gauge each meal!  Half way through, I will stop and ask myself, am I still hungry?  If I am, I will finish my meal.

I am also a psychological eater… is anyone else tricky like this?  I will take 1 serving size and make it into two.  I always feel more satiated if I eat two servings vs. one… even thought that two really is one.  Hey, it works for my silly head and belly!

So I will keep you updated on my new habit! And let you know how I do!!

In the meantime….

Have you ever suffered from food guilt?

 Do you play tricks on yourself to let you think you’re eating more, when you’re really not?

oxo

signature

One thought on “making a belly change….

  1. d says:

    Hi, I struggle with this ALL the time…my health has gone downhill so I’m not even exercising 😦 And I’m binging at night….I fear food intolerances and have NO idea how to eat anymore (not absorbing my nutrients and often find veggies in my stool 😦 Email me if possible — would be interested to hear about TIU. I already eat gluten free…the binging is the worse though…late late at night and since my bowels are not moving right and I don’t exercise, I feel mucho guilt 😦

Leave a Reply

